

## To the attention of:

Ursula von Der Leyen, President of the European Commission Janez Lenarčič, Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management Hadja Lahbib, Commissioner-designate for the Preparedness, Crisis Management and Equality

Brussels, 14 November 2024

Subject: Request to accelerate and simplify the process of accessing European funds for the Member States affected by natural disasters

Dear President of the European Commission, Dear Commissioners.

The recent natural disasters in Eastern, Central and Southern Europe have caused severe damage to the populations in these areas. Hundreds of lives have been tragically lost, and entire communities have been left in ruins, with significant damage to infrastructure, homes, and businesses.

Extensive rebuilding efforts will be necessary across many cities, towns, and villages to restore damaged infrastructure and equipment, while also ensuring that the reconstruction process is more resilient to future challenges.

We need an urgent approach to ease the strain on local, regional, and national budgets and reduce the risk of worsening territorial inequalities caused by the disasters. Immediate action is required to address the social and economic impacts of these natural events.

Therefore, we respectfully urge the European Commission to accelerate and simplify the process for accessing European funds intended for reconstruction following natural disasters that occurred in the last months in countries like Romania, Spain, Czech Republic, Croatia, Italy, Poland, Cyprus or Slovakia. Recent events have highlighted the importance of a swift and efficient mechanism that allows these funds to be used promptly, at a critical time for European citizens.

In previous public statements, the European Commission expressed its commitment to simplifying these procedures in the interest of a more responsive approach to the crises faced by member states. Now, more than ever, we need to transform these promises into tangible action to enable swift recovery across the affected regions. Immediate action is needed to reduce excessive bureaucracy so that real beneficiaries can access European funds without unnecessary delays.

We hope our message will be heard and we assure you of our support for implementing reforms that will contribute to a more united and prepared European Union capable of responding to current challenges.

## Yours sincerely,

Maria Georgiana TEODORESCU

Claudiu-Richard TÂRZIU

Adrian George AXINIA

Şerban-Dimitrie STURDZA

**Gheorghe PIPEREA** 

Nicolas BAY

Patryk JAKI

Kosma ZŁOTOWSKI

Reinis POZŅAKS

António TÂNGER CORRÊA

Bogdan RZOŃCA

Francesco TORSELLI

Paolo INSELVINI

Isabella TOVAGLIERI

Jaume ASENS LLODRÀ

Filip TUREK

Miriam LEXMANN

**Geadis GEADI** 

Laurence TROCHU

Chiara GEMMA

Mariateresa VIVALDINI

Giovanni CROSETTO

Carlo FIDANZA

Ruggero RAZZA

Michele PICARO

Nora JUNCO GARCÍA

Alvise PEREZ

Diego SOLIER

Francesco VENTOLA

Lara MAGONI

Elena DONAZZAN

Antonella SBERNA

Daniele POLATO

Alessandro CIRIANI

Marco SQUARTA

Marie DAUCHY

Ondřej KRUTILEK

Katarína ROTH NEVEDALOVA

Jorge BUXADÉ VILLALBA

Mario MANTOVANI

Pietro FIOCCHI

Alberico GAMBINO

Susanna CECCARDI

Nicola PROCACCINI

Mireia BORRÁS

Carlo CICCIOLI

Margarita DE LA PISA CARRIÓN

Cristian TERHEŞ

Jaak MADISON

Juan Carlos GIRAUTA VIDAL

Anna Maria CISINT

Roberto VANNACCI

Aldo PATRICIELLO

Milan UHRÍK

Silvia SARDONE

Raffaele STANCANELLI

Paolo BORCHIA

Nikola BARTUŠEK

Reinhold LOPATKA

Stephen Nikola BARTULICA

Aurelijus VERYGA

Ivaylo VALCHEV

Arkadiusz MULARCZYK

Fernand KARTHEISER

Michal DWORCZYK

Marlena MALAG

Luis Vicențiu LAZARUS

**Guillaume PELTIER** 

Jacek OZDOBA

Jadwiga WISNIEWSKA

Ewa ZAJACZKOWSKA-HERNIK

Tomasz BUCZEK

Anna BRYŁKA

Stefano CAVEDAGNA

Galato ALEXANDRAKI

**Emmanouil FRAGKOS** 

Branko GRIMS

Tiago MOREIRA DE SÁ

**Niels GEUKING** 

Klara DOSTALOVA

Jana NAGYOVA

Jaroslav BŽOCH

Nathalie LUKYOVA

Jaroslava POKORNÁ JERMANOVÁ

Ondrej KOVARIK

**Tomas KUBIN** 

Stanislav STOYANOV

Petar VOLGIN

Maciej WĄSIK

Mariusz KAMIŃSKI

Waldemar BUDA

Daniel OBAJTEK

Anna ZALEWSKA